A 365 Daily Challenge: Day 19


Day 19
16.03.2014
Topic: illusion
Topic given by: AB

Lost the image of myself,
behind what I thought was shapes of something great
Outlines of grand pyramids
Forced my needs to reach the tip of the allusive iceberg it represented

I built illusions I never thought could catch me
I built illusions that could reach everything but my self

Everything I could do to keep problems at an arms length would be a help in forgetting who I am.

Before I kissed it better
I had the illusion that sorrow carried no strength
So all I had to do was to paint strength in my eyes and in my smile
Until the one day that I finally cried
And the paint ran down my face
Disappeared
And left a face open and naked for a punch

That never came

So I kissed myself
And tore down the illusion

Built straight
And felt for the first time

This entry was posted in 365 daily challenge, Espen Stenersrød, MesAyah, poem, poetry, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A 365 Daily Challenge: Day 19

  1. poetic1717 says:

    This…truly reminds me of one of my characters…awesome. Thank you for sharing.

  2. All I can say is “wow!” I really enjoyed reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

