Letting go of the Ego


To release is just the beginning

Good morning / Good evening to you all

tonight I am gonna share some thoughts with you about the ego we carry around us and the importance of releasing from it in order to stay true to who you are. As an artist you have always carried an ego around with you, and you have probably heard from others as well that you carry it with you, by just being you and being creative. An ego is always good in the beginning, when you start creating, and go from having a hobby to actually making the move and shut other needs out in order to pursue a dream you have, because there are sacrifices you have to make in order to live like this, and then your ego is a good friend to have to have the guts to do.

But, When I say let go of the ego, you may raise a few eyebrows and ask the question, why? we need the ego in order to do this, to become what we are meant to be and so forth. To that I have one response: The ego will probably be the number one hindrance in order to achieve exactly that, and I am going to tell you why. Inside that ego lies the dangerous: What does other people think of what I am doing. Is this correct of me in order to please those others. Am I writing this right, am I phrasing this the correct way. All those question lies and rest with the ego, and thats why it is the number one hindrance of creative progression. I remember being lost in the same thing, the same pattern of, I am gonna make this song or this poem and i am going to this and that so it will be more applicable to the listeners, put in some extra of this and add some of that, and ended up with something that I cold not stand for and that other people heard as well that I did not stand for. I wanted so badly to be liked by others, or my ego wanted that, it craved it because I was not ready yet, I had not found my musical outlet or my muse if you like, and the only thing suffering inside me then was my ego, I cared.

It wasn’t until 2011/2012 I managed to let go of that, I let go of patterns, I let go of impressing someone else, I started writing and 365 daily challenge and if it sucked, it sucked, but at least I wrote what I felt, and this adapted over to my music, I added bridges, I added repeating lines, I added arrangements that made me want to listen to my own music and all of the sudden others started appreciating it to, they started saying, Hey great work, you sound amazing, your words really moves me, but being the fact that I had removed myself from my ego, I can say no other words than thank you to them, it is flattering off course, but there was something in me saying: as long as I am true to myself and what I want I am happy and that has made me cross genres and create stuff I didn’t think I could manage to do, I took it one step forward the moment I let go of that ego and need of getting feedback. The ultimate result of that revealed itself a couple of weeks ago when I sat down filming myself with a guitar creating a spoken word version of one of my song

So my cry to you all is let go of it, no one matters more than your words, you are the only factor to your own success/happiness and no one can put a stop to that

Peace

MesAyah

 

This entry was posted in hip hop, Life, MesAyah, Music, poetry, Spoken Word, Video, writers, Youtube and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Letting go of the Ego

  1. dulzimordash says:

    Reblogged this on Spontaneous Creativity.

  2. dcardiff says:

    I find it is easiest to let go of the ego when I look through the eyes of love. It is then that we see what others want and need. We are all the same, we all want happiness, we all want an end to suffering. If we help others, we help ourselves.

    Cheers,
    Dennis

  3. godschick says:

    That is a great post….I heard someone say once that self-consciousness robs the anointing….I have never forgotten that. God anoints us, uses us, gives us a voice, etc and when we start getting self-focused we start thinking more of our inadequacies or worth than God and His power. Love that you stepped out in faith. God is certainly using you. Blessings!

    • MesAyah says:

      How did you get me finding faith and God from this post? Cause i mist certainly have not done so. I only believe ib the ability of mankind and nature and the Universe. Never understood religion or faith.

  4. Nicki says:

    good word of wisdom there and your right, I let go of lots of things and now I can write more the words just flows out of me, before I was all over the place I could not write right, my toughest where scrambled … its true when you let it go… everything is possible :)

  5. Pieter Navis says:

    Nice post and song!
    Wonder if the lyrics will be available too, cause i think it would be an amazing read!

    To me its no longer a fight against the ego, its seeing it for what it really is. It’s the part of me which thinks itself to be separated from everything else and it needs to defend itself. But i’m way more than that. So i’m still striving to learn to life with this belittleling part in me, by using my own rules this time. No longer following blindly, but choosing with care. Choosing not to do what the ego tells me to do, but at the same time no longer feeling sorry for myself if i fell into one of its traps again. It’s all about learning to live, by living to learn

    Cheers

  6. Lesley Buse says:

    Thank you for following my blog. I am honored and grateful, as it then directed me to your post on ego! Loved being reminded of the good and bad of my ego. It comes at a time when it was necessary to hear, so I could continue writing!

  7. Ida Lottablogs says:

    I was quite surprised when you started to ‘talk’ on the video whilst playing in that more traditional style on your guitar, what an original concept!

  8. jordanloftis says:

    Nice post man, really encouraging. It’s so hard as a musician/writer/creative to let go of the thing in us that wants to be accepted and loved and praised… But we have to be the voice only we can be, because in the end, there’s no other option.

  9. Hey I’m just starting out a wordpress blog. Please check out my first work and let me know what you think !

  10. the phrase rolling around in my head these days ,’expectation is the toxin of creativity’…i’ll get that in a poem someday when the words come, i agree with what you’ve written so honestly. it’s a gradual process i think, sounds like you’ve gotten to that place where there is nothing between your heart and your words and music. i’m happy for you.

    just thought i’d visit a bit to thank you for the follow, i really appreciate the encouragement. :-)

  11. wcallagy says:

    Letting go of the ego…..thankyou for the living room thoughts!

  12. Thank you so much for these inspiring words and sound, and for the follow ! Greetings from Marseille, France !

  13. Thanks for the follow on my music blog eunuchinaharem.wordpress.com. You might also be interested in my dedicated poetry blog takingofftoland.wordpress.com.

    Keep up the bloggery :)

    - RecessionDodge

  14. Madhurima says:

    so so so so very true! if only we all could shed our egos… i guess doing so becomes a little more possible with self awareness (who we are, et all) and of course compassion…

  15. Lindy Lee says:

    Right on to Mesayah…

Leave a Reply

